top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadison McDougal

My BYU Experience

Updated: Dec 11, 2019



I am a third generation Brigham Young University (BYU) student and spent my entire high school education working hard to be able to follow in the footsteps of my older siblings, parents, and even grandparents. Receiving the acceptance letter to BYU was one of the most exciting days in my life not only because I was relieved that I knew where I was going to spend the next four years of my life but at the prospect of learning from some of the most inspired professors. When I arrived at BYU, I quickly realized that religious education is incorporated into every class including biology, American history, and child development. BYU has four main goals for what they want every individual student to experience during their time at the institution:

- Spiritually Strengthening

- Intellectually Enlarging

- Character Building

- Leading to Lifelong Learning and Service

Spiritually Strengthening: Because BYU is a private religious University, they can require students to take classes on religious based topics such as the study of different volumes of scriptures and modern revelation that guides and directs The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I grew up reading the scriptures in my home as a family and individually, but professors at BYU encouraged me to study in a new way which helped me better understand how these ancient texts are relevant today. I also was engaged in discussions in my communications classes about how I can maintain my high religious standards while working in the real world. To me, my beliefs determine more of my identity than my career, ethnicity, or gender; therefore, it was important for me to be growing in faith as I learned more of the world.

Intellectually Enlarging: BYU strives to give students a well-rounded education about a variety of topics beyond that of chosen emphasis. Some of the most enlightening classes I took were my humanities classes. One of the books I read in my studies of humanities was “Things Fall Apart”, which showed me a whole new perspective of what the term civilization means. The study of humanities has aided me in my study of communications by helping me better understand different cultures and perspectives than mine own. Humanities also helped me develop more analytical skills that allow me to be a better strategic planner.

Character Building: Something that sets BYU apart is the emphasis on building strong ethical morals such as integrity and responsibility. While interning in New York I had the opportunity to work with people from a variety of educational backgrounds and religious upbringings, something that almost all of them share with me as I finished the internship was that they respected that I was not willing to lie or withhold truth when working with coworkers and clients. It was easy for me to make what would have been a hard decision without hesitation because professors had already caused me to decide what I would do in those kinds of circumstances beforehand.

Leading to Lifelong Learning and Service: One of my favorite scripture passage is found in a volume of scripture called the Book of Mormon and reads, “ For behold, God knowing all things, being from everlasting to everlasting, behold he sent angels to minister unto the children of men, to make manifest concerning the coming of Christ; and in Christ there should come every good thing.” In the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, we believe that each person has to potential to become as God is, which means that this life is a time to prepare and become as much like him as we can. I know that BYU has started me on my pursuit of knowledge and has taught me how to seek out truth, but that it will take a lifetime of dedication to learn all that I can. I also believe that the education I have received here at BYU has prepared me to be an angel to minister unto the children of men. I have developed talents and skills that will me allow me to serve in a variety of capacities while here on the earth.

My experience at BYU has helped me discover who I am and has given me goals in life that exceed beyond a career. Why would you want someone on your team whose life is not one hundred percent driven by career goals? I am driven by being Christ like, or in other words loving others as he does. I am a team player, not only am I willing to carry my own load, but I am willing to help carry others when it is beyond what they can carry. Family is a priority of mine, and the desire to provide for my future family pushes me to be the best I can in my career. Most importantly, I have a confidence in who I am and believe that I have limitless potential.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page